August 2019 Best Selling Books at the Frog

Four Eyed Frog Books Top 20 Bestsellers August 2019

  1. City Mouse, Country Mouse by Maggie Rudy
    Rudy creates magical mice from felt and pipe cleaners. She photographs her creations for books & cards. See the great diorama Rudy created for this book at the Four-Eyed Frog.
  2. Embers: One Ojibway’s Meditations by Richard Wagamese
    Wagamese’s thoughtful reflections, musings and meditations offer wisdom, insights, and thoughts well worth visiting and revisiting in this excellent and articulate little book.
  3. qh awala.li: “water running down place” by Annette White-Parks*
    Comprehensive, readable and certainly the most interesting and thorough history of our coast. A thoughtful souvenir—for you or for a special friend. Now only $10!
  4. An Anthology of Intriguing Animals from DK Publishing
    Over 100 animals shown both photographically and illustrated. Children love poring over the detailed images. The index is packed with reference information.
  5. I Wish I Had a Pet by Maggie Rudy
    A cute and engaging picture book featuring Maggie Rudy’s mice from Mouseland who show youngsters how to choose and care for a pet.
  6. Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
    Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver, here is an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
  7. Sea Ranch: Architecture, Environment and Idealism by Jennifer Dunlop Fletcher
    An examination of the Sea Ranch master plan and iconic early designs through sketches, drawings and archival photographs.  Recently featured at San Francisco’s MOMA
  8. Mushrooms of the Redwood Coast by Christian Schwarz & Noah Siegel
    A comprehensive, user-friendly field guide for identifying the many mushrooms of the northern California coast, from Monterey County to the Oregon border.
  9. Indian Horse by Richard WagameseBC
    Saul Indian Horse, a self-described hard-core drunk, is told to write his life story as part of his treatment. And what a story he tells. A beautifully written novel.
  10. The Overstory by Richard PowersBC
    "The best novel ever written about trees, and really just one of the best novels, period." —Ann Patchett. Overstory is the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction.
  11. Veins of the Ocean by Patricia EngelBC
    A stunning portrait of fractured lives finding solace in the beauty of the natural world and in one another. An exploration of what happens when life tests the limits of compassion.
  12. A Better Man by Louise Penny
    Demoted to Head of Homicide, Inspector Gamache faces turmoil, catastrophe and attacks as a distraught father seeks help. A book well worth waiting for; a truly good read.
  13. Mendonoma Sightings Throughout the Year by Jeanne Jackson* & Craig Tooley*
    Far & away the Frog’s all-time best-selling book. Colorful flora & fauna arranged by season, Fun Facts for all ages. Makes a great gift! More than 2,090 copies sold at the Frog.
  14. The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
    “A place ain’t a place without a bookstore!” — a touching novel of love between parents & children, couples, of books and of life! A Frog favorite!
  15. Born a Crime  by Trevor Noah
    It’s funny, it’s witty, it’s dark and brutal. Trevor Noah shares his childhood in South Africa, growing up under apartheid, the critical role of his mother, and the importance of humor.
  16. The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn
    Spying out her window, Anna Fox sees something she shouldn’t in the house of the perfect family next door. What is real? What is imagined? Who’s in danger? A gripping thriller.
  17. The Heart by Maylis De Kerangal
    After a tragic auto accident a teen-age boy is brain dead but his heart keeps beating. Over the next 24 hours the heart is transplanted in this epic novel of grief, hope and survival.
  18. Calypso by David Sedaris - Sedaris sets his formidable powers of observation toward middle age and mortality. But in this very funny book he recognizes, too, that the story of his life is made up of more past than future.
  19. So You Want to Move to Canada, eh by Jennifer McCartney
    Laugh and learn about America's friendly northern neighbor with this step-by-step guide to Canadian customs, pop culture, and slang -- great for anyone who's considered the move.
  20. Gratitude by Oliver Sacks
    It’s the rare person who counts his blessings upon learning he’s “face to face with dying.” But 
    Oliver Sacks did just that with this posthumous gift to us.

*Local Author

BC - Local Book Club Selection